Track Name Artist Name
Buy and Listen

The new album takes his 2012 EP, The Hope of Better Weather, originally recorded by Price alone in a room with a piano improvising, and brings it fully to life with the addition of a series of reworkings by Yann Tiersen, Bill Ryder-Jones, Peter Gregson, Malibu and Eluvium.

Part reissue, part reworks – out now.

The Hope of Better Weather Track list

  1. The Anatomy of Clouds
    Michael Price
  2. Breaking the Horizon
    Michael Price
  3. Reflected in the Waves
    Michael Price
  4. In Spite of the Weather (Bill Ryder-Jones Re-imagining)
    Michael Price & Bill Ryder-Jones
  5. Breaking the Horizon (Eluvium Broken Mix)
    Michael Price & Eluvium
  6. The Warmth of the Sun (Peter Gregson Duet)
    Michael Price & Peter Gregson
  7. The Anatomy of Clouds (Yann Tiersen Remix)
    Michael Price & Yann Tiersen
  8. The Anatomy of Clouds (Malibu Sweet Hereafter Remix)
    Michael Price & Malibu

The Nature of Collaboration

When Price revisited the work in recent months – at a time when many of us found ourselves more aware of the natural world – he met with it in a way that looks to connect with his next artistic steps. “You start off with listening to 10 year old piano recordings and then you go through the reinterpretations of people looking at that material now through their own lens. The fixation with weather, coastlines and with people connected with nature, is really strong. Coming out the other side of it, it’s kind of like a Northern weather feeling – coming out with your collar turned up with a hat on, a bit drizzly and shit outside, but with a kind of determination that is the right route forward.”

The Anatomy of Clouds (original piano version)

00:00 /

“It’s not very prescriptive. I wasn’t trying to control what anybody else was doing. Everybody that joined in with the project gives their own little piece of freedom. I was really interested in what freedom we all give ourselves, as well as being fascinated to see what a little germ of an idea can mean to somebody else.”

◦ Michael Price


  • Music composed by

    Michael Price with Yann Tiersen, Bill Ryder-Jones,  Malibu, Eluvium and Peter Gregson

  • Engineered by

    Marco Pasquariello, Paul Pritchard 

  • Mastered by

    Katie Tavini

  • Lacquers cut by

    Cicely Balston at Alchemy

  • Illustration

    Deepesh Patel

  • Design

    Paul Rafferty

Other Works


Michael’s most personal record to date.

Eternal Beauty

dir. Craig Roberts

Berlin 1-3

with Peter Gregson

Music for Brainwaves

Erased Tapes x CitizenM

Newsletter Signup